PPB&J Biscuits

An experiment!

The other day I had a nasty surprise and I ended up in Hospital for five days. Today has been my first day of freedom so I ran amok (as much as you can when you have just had surgery and you have two holes in your stomach) and made these. I don’t really agree with the whole comfort eating thing but I have to say there are some days when things just seem so bleak that you need a pick me up. This little number did just the trick. I would have made them with quinoa at home but as I am currently in my parents house for the next few days I used pinhead oatmeal instead.

(That is why there are two p’s!)

Pinhead, peanut butter and jelly biscuits;

  • one cup of pinhead oatmeal
  • three cups of water
  • 3 tbs of peanut butter (or to taste)
  • a small handful of peanuts (optional)
  • 1 tbs flax seed (optional)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • a blob of sugar free jam (I use follan)

Preheat the oven to 180’c

You simply bring the oatmeal to the boil and then let if simmer for fifteen minutes or until it looks ready. then you add in the honey, flax seed, peanuts (optional) and peanut butter to taste. What i mean is I love peanut butter so I add in a lot but some people find it overwhelming. Then you place a dessert spoon of the mixture to a a tray and smooth it out. Press your thumb into the middle of each biscuit and put your jam in there. Repeat until you have used up all the mixture. Bake for ten minutes or until golden brown. Leave to cool and then enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

