Birthday cake……..(sort of)

So yesterday was my 21st Birthday!! How exciting, and exciting it may not have been but it was definitely one of the sweetest, loveliest days I have ever had! It was very family-centric which is just what you want. They indulged me in all my favourite things, slightly off-beat romcoms, bombay aloo, and of course delicious treats that are free from wheat dairy and refined sugar. I have been looking over my blog recently and it struck me that I have become very angsty online.

Now that is not to say that sharing your dark days with people is a bad thing. What I am saying though is that sometimes people like me, people who live very much inside their own head, can forget the bigger picture and misrepresentate themselves. Yes I am very prone to down days and I can have jumps of time where things seem impossibly hard BUT and this is a big but I am a surprisingly optimistic person. When I am having good days the sun shines so bright and things have never been so sweet.

This is a recipe I adapted from Green Kitchen Stories yesterday when I was the single happiest person in all the land.

Fat Almond Pancake;

  • 590mls of milk of your choice (almond, soya etc)
  • 5 eggs
  • 4 tbs of buckwheat flour
  • 200gr almond flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 tbs of maple syrup
  • 2 tbs organic butter or coconut oil melted.

preheat the oven to 180’c

Whisk the eggs until they are frothy. Add in the milk and all the dry ingredients and mix until smoooth. Add in the melted coconut oil. Grease the square baking dish and place in the oven for 50 minutes or until the top is golden and your fork (when placed in the middle) comes out clean.

I ate this blissfully with maple syrup, yogurt and berries and it was delicious.

One thought on “Birthday cake……..(sort of)

  1. Happy birthday!!! (for yesterday) Glad to hear you had such a lovely day 🙂 Writing a blog can certainly make you realise stuff about yourself! But that’s what’s so great about it – you can look back on things you’ve written and know where you need to make changes or what you’re good at or learn from old mistakes. Glad to hear you’ve been able to grow through your blog writing!
    Also that recipe sounds great!
    Rachel
    http://journeysinlifeblog.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

